I Do

will you have this man to be your husband; to live together with him in the covenant of marriage? Will you love him, comfort him, honour and keep him, in sickness and in health; and, forsaking all others, be faithful unto him as long as you both shall live?

 

Vows are solemn promises, uttered in the confinement of trust and belief.

A vow pledges the heart to be held accountable in lieu of a promise.

‘Will you’ providing the false illusion of expression.

As if in that second you could re-live the future in one moment.

At least that would coin your response valid.

The promise that the future could cover those multitudes of sins the past introduced me to…. gave me hope.

But, the truth is, to ‘Have this man’ was the new chapter I longed for.

That feeling of belonging was what I cried for.

The hope of ownership was more than enough when this man gave His all to have me as his woman.

‘To be’ swirled in could be of what should be, I became His.

However, flashbacks of imperfection tainted my view

and before I realised, I lost sight of his hand and clung unto visions of our dream – our eternal paradise.

‘Your Husband’ became an address for you as my belonging or even possession.

I loved you beyond this bond, it was more than an agreement. There was a ‘covenant’.

Your place in my heart was secure.

This marriage was long overdue because we already lived together.

But you needed to hear this to be sure I’m serious so I pledge to you today:

As you love me so much you gave your life for me, I will love you.

All those sleepless nights you were there to comfort me, I will comfort you.

You exchanged all my shame and embarrassment for honour, I will honour you.

You kept me so close to your heart that after you presented me with the ring you declared ‘ it is finished’, so will I keep you.

No sickness or great health can keep us apart.

I will forsake all who oppose this because they know not of the love between us.

Even through temptations and trials, I will be faithful to you.

The journey is long but you held me through some trying times, so as long as I live, I will live for you.

As you engraved my name in your palms,

I have engraved your name on my heart.

I do take you to be my all… in all… and for all.

I do.

 

Leave a Reply

